

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

You are requested to attend a meeting of the Scrutiny Committee to be held in Training Suite (Ground Floor) - The Albemarle Centre on 15 January 2019 at 6.15 pm.

Agenda

- 1 Apologies.
- 2 Minutes of the previous meeting of the Scrutiny Committee. (Pages 5 10)
- 3 Declarations of Interest.

To receive and record any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests or personal or prejudicial interests in respect of any matters included on the agenda for consideration at this meeting.

(The personal interests of Councillors and Clerks of Somerset County Council, Town or Parish Councils and other Local Authorities will automatically be recorded in the minutes.)

- 4 Public Question Time.
- Call-in, by Councillors Libby Lisgo and Richard Lees, of the decision made by Executive Councillor Jane Warmington to agree to the appointment of Somerset Community Foundation to manage the processing of the TDBC Partnerships Grants Fund through a variation of the existing services contract.

(Pages 11 - 18)

6 Monkton Heathfield Urban Extension Policy Update.

(Pages 19 - 38)

7 Scrutiny Work Programme.

(Pages 39 - 40)

Bruce Lang Assistant Chief Executive

7 January 2019

Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting and listen to the discussions.

There is time set aside at the beginning of most meetings to allow the public to ask questions.

Speaking under "Public Question Time" is limited to 4 minutes per person in an overall period of 15 minutes. The Committee Administrator will keep a close watch on the time and the Chairman will be responsible for ensuring the time permitted does not overrun. The speaker will be allowed to address the Committee once only and will not be allowed to participate further in any debate.

Except at meetings of Full Council, where public participation will be restricted to Public Question Time only, if a member of the public wishes to address the Committee on any matter appearing on the agenda, the Chairman will normally permit this to occur when that item is reached and before the Councillors begin to debate the item.

This is more usual at meetings of the Council's Planning Committee and details of the "rules" which apply at these meetings can be found in the leaflet "Having Your Say on Planning Applications". A copy can be obtained free of charge from the Planning Reception Desk at The Deane House or by contacting the telephone number or e-mail address below.

If an item on the agenda is contentious, with a large number of people attending the meeting, a representative should be nominated to present the views of a group.

These arrangements do not apply to exempt (confidential) items on the agenda where any members of the press or public present will be asked to leave the Committee Room.

Full Council, Executive, Committees and Task and Finish Review agendas, reports and minutes are available on our website: www.tauntondeane.gov.uk

The meeting rooms at both Brittons Ash Community Centre and West Monkton Primary School are on the ground floor and are fully accessible. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available.

Lift access to the Council Chamber on the first floor of Shire Hall, is available from the main ground floor entrance. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available through the door to the right hand side of the dais.



An induction loop operates at Shire Hall to enhance sound for anyone wearing a hearing aid or using a transmitter.

For further information about the meeting, please contact the Governance and Democracy Team on 01823 356356 or email democraticservices@tauntondeane.gov.uk

If you would like an agenda, a report or the minutes of a meeting translated into another language or into Braille, large print, audio tape or CD, please telephone us on 01823 356356 or email: enquiries@tauntondeane.gov.uk

Scrutiny Committee Members:

Councillor S Coles (Chairman)

Councillor F Smith-Roberts (Vice-Chair)

Councillor J Blatchford

Councillor N Cavill

Councillor W Coombes

Councillor T Davies

Councillor E Gaines

Councillor A Gunner

Councillor T Hall

Councillor R Henley

Councillor R Lees

Councillor L Lisgo

Councillor S Martin-Scott

Councillor N Townsend

Councillor D Webber